PDA

View Full Version : Colt Combat Commander Question

Motor
05-26-2011, 06:23 PM
Don't know if this should be here or on the "Modern Handgun Forum" but saw other related questions here so:
I have a 45 Combat Commander sr# starting with "70" I always thought it was a light weight frame model but recently I gave it the "magnet test" and a magnet "WILL" stick to the frame anywhere you try. Does anybody know if the "alloy" frames will attract a magnet? And is there a sure fire way like serial # or other method to tell if it is a light weight or standard frame. Thanks,
Motor

32 Magnum
05-26-2011, 06:28 PM
Magnet will not stick to a non-ferrous metal (iron, nickel, cobalt are "ferrous series" metals and in pure state are magnetic). Your Commander is a series '70' and Colt made this one in all steel. The original Commander had an alloy (aluminum and zinc) frame - but when the all steel pieces were introduced, the name was changed to "Light Weight Commander" for the alloy pieces.

dfariswheel
05-26-2011, 08:31 PM
Like most gun makers, Colt has varied the stamps on gun models.

Originally, the Commander Model had an aluminum frame.
In 1969 they introduced a Commander type gun with a steel frame as the Combat Commander.

Later they started varying the names, calling aluminum models Lightweight Commanders, and sometimes steel models just Commanders.
It's gotten to the point where it's best to go by the guns features as much as the stamps.

A magnet will not react with an aluminum part.
Aluminum Commanders have aluminum frames, mainspring housing, and grip safeties.

jjk308
05-27-2011, 08:20 AM
Just to make it more complicated: My 1953 "Commander Model" 38 Super has a serial number 24XXX - L.W. for "Light Weight". Its the original alloy frame.
After 1968 the L.W. suffix switched to a CLW prefix, the indication of an alloy frame. Prior to 1969 the Lightweight "Coltalloy" frame was standard on all Commanders.