Is there anyone here that could identify a real one if I emailed you the photos? You can email me at jhrobert@charter.net and I will send them along. It has a makers mark that reads F.W.Holler Berlin. I do not think that this is a fake.
TIA, Jim R.
Is there anyone here that could identify a real one if I emailed you the photos? You can email me at jhrobert@charter.net and I will send them along. It has a makers mark that reads F.W.Holler Berlin. I do not think that this is a fake.
TIA, Jim R.
Last edited by Jim R; 04-23-2009 at 06:21 PM.
"THE BOLTMAN" GUNBOARDS SPONSOR
http://www.angelfire.com/gundam/boltman/bolt_work/
A real one would say FW Holler Solingen,sounds like a repro.
I have been doing some searching on the internet for information. I also have seen two on websites that had F.W. Holler Berlin on the oval crest on the back side of the blade. In the center appears to be some type of a scale or something which is also on the two I saw that were being sold for around $8K+.
"THE BOLTMAN" GUNBOARDS SPONSOR
http://www.angelfire.com/gundam/boltman/bolt_work/
Go to wardaggers.com/D110.htm
Try www.germandaggers.com i belong to that forum, I don't think holler was a goverment official dagger maker but eichorn was along with one or two other I think.
Send some photos to texasbadger@sbcglobal.net or post them here and we will get it done.
I believe anything marked "F.W.Holler Berlin" is a fake. F.W. Holler was located in Solingen. Run away from that dagger in a hurry!
There is no mention in Tony Carter's book on German Sword & Knife makers of Holler using Berlin in their trademark - only Solingen.
Regards
Richie
Another give away on the early fakes is that there are two round circular impressions on the rear of the wings of the crossguard where the strikers pushed the guard out of the dye but thats just one of the easy ones.