Default Belgian Identification

I'm new to collecting, and just inherited most of a Belgian mauser. In the short term I am more interested in just being able to shoot it than to fully restore it (given what I perceive from this forum is a scarcity of Belgian parts). Please help me identify my rifle and let me know if there are replacement parts that will interchange from mausers that are more readily available.

rifle is 43 1/2" overall with a 22 5/8" barrel. 1/4" blade front sight with 7/8" wings. "MANUFACTURE D'ARMES DEL'ETAT"...sn 36026...GB in oval. mismatched bent handled bolt sn 5347, 7 9/16" to bolt face, smooth safety...rampant lion and crown with either a D or J beneath it stamped underneath bolt handle. Semi-pistol grip stock, 38" not including bayonet lug...1 1/16" cartouches missing from both sides of stock...metal buttplate marked "bpr" over 41 over waffenamt sn 1802. Missing magazine/floorplate, barrel bands, and handgaurd. I believe that I have a Belgian 98k in German 98k furniture, but I don't know the origin of the bolt.

Am I right? Any clue as to the year of manufacture for the receiver? Are 98k parts interchangeable between German and Belgian rifles. All help will be appreciated.

Thanks

Okay, lets forget about the identification. Can I use a German 98k trigger gaurd and floorplate to render this rifle shootable? Are there any issues with interchanging bolts if the headspace is safe? Please help me. I own a couple of Nagants, but know nothing about Mausers (yet)

Thanks

John Wall is offline Diamond Member with Oak Leaves and Swords

Joe,