Thread: S & W model 22A questions

Default S & W model 22A questions

Greetings! This is my first time on this forum. I generally hide in the Collector's forum or the Minefield.
    I recently picked up a S & W Model 22A that wouldn't fire. From what I can tell, the firing pin is as sharp as an axe and harder steel than the barrel, so it has chopped a notch into the end of the chamber from dry firing, leaving nothing to back up the firing pin strike. It will bend the cartridge rim but not fire the round. I can see no other way to safely release the firing pin after the last round has been fired, to prevent this from happening so I'll use the plastic "snap cap" function testing rounds as the final chambering at the end of the day but they won't last long with this sharp pin.
    So, does anyone have one of these pistols? Has this happened to your pistol? Is this a problem S&W has already corrected or should I contact them? I know parts are available from several sources but are there any simple fixes besides replacing the barrel assembly? The only thing suggested so far is to super clean the spot, add some JB Weld, and then hand hone it back to specs. I will try that since it is way cheaper than replacing the barrel and rail assembly but I realize I'll end up buying the new parts eventually. Unless someone has already tried it and found it to be a suitable repair?
    Thanks for your input.
    Jack

S&W has a lifetime warranty. Call them, they will send you a shipping label, and UPS will drop it back off to you when they are done. Turnaround time is usually 2-3 weeks.
    Will work for ammo.

Quote Originally Posted by Hawgleg44 View Post
    S&W has a lifetime warranty. Call them, they will send you a shipping label, and UPS will drop it back off to you when they are done. Turnaround time is usually 2-3 weeks.
    Thanks! I'll try that. Do you have the phone number? (I know! I could look it up!)