Thread: SKS misfire

Default SKS misfire

Hello all, Im new to this.
    I would like to ask if anyone has had a problem with ammo brand and misfiring with the SKS yugo.
    The sks was packed in cosmoline and cleaned well before I got it. plus it had 40 to 50 rounds put threw it .While at the range I had 3 brands of ammo wolf , golden tiger and reloads . the wolf and golden tiger both had several misfires leaving just a dent in the primer and the reloads had no problem at all. the only thing i could see that was difirent was on the wolf and golden tiger the primers where deeper into the cartridge and the reloads where flush. also note the same ammo works really well in my ak47.
    so i guess what im asking is the yugo SKS picky about the ammo i use in it??
    or is there somthing else i should be looking for?
    any info would be great.

does it have the grenade launcher on it ?

ive had trouble with every one of them

ive owned. will never own another one

FIVESHOT

blast the bolt firing pin hole with brake cleaner, bore scrubber, or similar product (wear safety glasses)

Does it have the aftermarket "spring loaded" firing pin? Did you clean the bolt (disassemble) yourself? Sometimes the slfp won't hit the hard military primers hard enough and you don't really know if the firiing pin channel is clean unless you take it apart. I use pipe cleaners and solvent on mine, but I don't own a Yugo. May have to replace the firing pin or hammer spring.
    Hope this helps.

Wolf Military Classic doesn't work for s#%t in my Yugo... many FTF, all cases show deep primer hits. Sometimes they go off with a second hit. Gave up on Wolf Military Classic after having 6-8 FTF out of each box of 20, box after box of the 200 rounds I tried. BTW, my Yugo has been properly cleaned, all cosmoline removed... and there was a LOT of it. Yugo milsurp works well.