Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: sks won't cycle

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default sks won't cycle

    my yugo sks won't cycle and reload when fired the bolt only goes back about an inch. Could it be the bolt spring or the gas tube? Thee rifle shoots fine only you have to manually cock to reload

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    6,594

    Default

    It is very common to have a corroded gas valve, if it is an M59/66 model.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    fix or replace?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    6,594

    Default

    Replace is the best bet.

    http://www.murraysguns.com/sks_gv.htm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Congo, DR
    Posts
    1,134

    Default

    Make sure you don't have it set for grenade (single shot) firing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6,802

    Default

    Every yugo with grenade launcher ive owned does that



    fiveshot

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I think it leaks thanks for the tip. I've tried the rtv treatment to the end of the gas tube and you know how long that lasted. How about drilling and tapping the gas port and plugging it? I don't have a place to shoot that is close. I really don't have the time to mess with it without having to drive an hour. Anybody know of a place to shoot near Charlotte, NC?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Bridgeton, RI
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arcom the first View Post
    Make sure you don't have it set for grenade (single shot) firing.
    The switch should be at about 2 o'clock, if that's where it is and it doesn't cycle you need a new block. One thing that works to seal the leak by is a paper clip. Wrap the paper clip into the grove of the gas block and you should be good to go. I shoot some low pressure loads and I needed to clip my replacement gas block to get it to cycle.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kalifornia
    Posts
    212

    Default

    Bought these on both of my Yugos and they work flawless - they also retain the original look and configuration. I bought a new spring and button with it. (optional)

    http://www.cncwarrior.com/comersus/s...sp?idProduct=1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    556

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plumber View Post
    The switch should be at about 2 o'clock, if that's where it is and it doesn't cycle you need a new block. One thing that works to seal the leak by is a paper clip. Wrap the paper clip into the grove of the gas block and you should be good to go. I shoot some low pressure loads and I needed to clip my replacement gas block to get it to cycle.

    I remember this solution was used by a lot of people (and worked) when the yugos first came out

    regrds

    Richard

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •