Default Cleaning of Remington 1858

Hello all as you read my posts it wont take you long to figure out I am new to black powder. Today I am looking for cleaning tips on cleaning my Remington 1858. I understand I soak it in warm soapy water but am a little unclear after that. Do I still run a brush and cleaning patch through it like I do my XD? Do I let the parts air dry or do I hand dry them? Some tell me to use WD40 on the parts to help prevent rust. I am definitely open to any advise. I have been shooting my entire life but never black powder what I have found out is I cant take my knowledge of modern firearms and transfer it over to black powder they are just two different worlds. I am definably the new kid on the block right now.

It is kind of counter-intuitive isn't it?
    OK here's what I do & it seems to work. I find B/P easier to clean than smokeless & have yet to use or need any bore brushes.

Take a plastic bucket big enough to hold the whole pistol. (this is to stop small parts going down the drain.)

Drop into the empty bucket a cake of regular old soap, the same stuff you wash your hands with. (Personally I use Ivory because it floats & is easy to retrieve).
    Fill the bucket with HOT water, as hot as you can stand putting your hand into. (This will dissolve plenty of soap making hot soapy water.)
    Remove the wooden grips & set them aside.
    Remove the cylinder from the frame.
    Remove the nipples from the cylinder.
    Throw the whole mess into the bucket of hot soapy water (except the wood grips).

Get your tools while the gun soaks for a few minutes.

Old toothbrush.
    toothpicks.
    Cleaning rod, & loop type tip.
    Patches.
    Paper towels.
    Super cheap hair dryer ($10.00 from wally-world.)
    Your preferred preservative, oil grease or whatever.

Take a patch & soap it with the now soft block of soap.
    Run the patch through the bore 5~6 times with the pistol mostly submerged still.