Thread: Question on how to ship a gun out of state?

Default Question on how to ship a gun out of state?

I am new to the selling guns across state lines. I have aranged to trade my Makarov for another gun. I am located in Florida and the other gun is located in Ohio. Can somone tell me what the procedure would be for me to send the gun to him and the other gentalman to send his gun to me. Do we need to send them through a Firearms dealer or can we ship them directly? Any help would be appreciated. Both of us are novices in this arena. Thanks in advance.

Pat

If neither of you have an FFL license, you may not receive them unless they were made before 1898, I believe, they can only be received from another state by an FFL holder. If the FFL you are sending it to is willing to receive a firearm from a non-FFL, you can send it to the FFL via Fedex or UPS. If they are not willing to receive it from you, you must find a local FFL who will send it to the other guy's FFL. That's the simple answer.
    Always looking for interesting 7.62x25 Tokarev and 7.63 Mauser cartridges!!!
    Member: International Ammunition Assoc. (IAA), European Cartridge Research Assoc. (ECRA). Ask me about membership!

I'm assuming neither guy is a C&R holder, so I'll skip the C&R bit. The only thing I'll add is that an FFL can ship the handgun through USPS as well as Fed Ex, UPS, etc. Non FFL's can't ship handguns USPS, only UPS, FedEx, etc. Rifles or shotguns can be shipped USPS, FedEx, UPS, etc. by a non FFL. In all cases the firearms must be shipped to an FFL.