Thread: Dating Ammo

Default Dating Ammo

I'm fairly new to shooting and as I've been reading a few of the threads I just thought of something. If I am buying ammo that I am not going to use right away should I be marking the purchase date on the ammo so I can keep it rotated? I guess I have the same question on my powders and reloaded rounds once I actually start reloading?

Is there anything else I should be tracking on my ammo other then date?

I prefer dating girls (but my wife won't let me !).

As far as production dates go on ammo, depending on the storage conditions, this product has an almost infinite shelf life.
    Much of the surplus ammo available is/was from the 1950's to 1980's and will be good for the rest of my life; and beyond. Unless ammo is stored in wet conditions, factory ammo is stable. You are in Arizona, the lack of humidity will be your friend in the storage of powder and handloaded ammo. The stuff you load should be good for a few years, if you seal the powder can(s) the same should apply.The only caution would be to control the amount of heat that you expose ammo and powder to , excess heat would shorten the shelf life of the powder in the can, not as quickly in the loaded case. As a note, I have shot 20 + year old handloads and factory ammo that was made in the 20's and 30's. Don't be too concerned.

Good to know. One of my friends has told me that he would replace all his ammo every year right before hunting season. Part of the reason for the question.

I don't think my wife would let me date women either, but I'm not about to ask her or try it without asking, I want to be around and upwardly mobile for the Grand-kids.

No need to worry about ammo dating any newly manufactured ammo or reloads unless you're just into that level of book keeping. I'm still shooting up German 8mm and Russian 7.62x54R that were both made before the start of WWII. Who knows how they were stored for the last 70 years, but they shoot just fine.