sick New Marlin 336Y Review

Hello, it's my first time here; be gentle with me.

I have been looking for a gift for a young gentleman who is of the age where he is ready to start hunting, and thought about getting him one of the Marlin 336Y carbines in caliber .30-30, figuring that with its reduced length of pull, it would be an excellent choice. I found a new one today at my local gunshop and the price was right ($395). That rifle looked really sweet sitting up there on the rack, but when I had the clerk hand it to me, I was disappointed with the fit and finish.

The bluing seemed to be well done, and the mechanical bits all seemed to function nicely with good tight tolerances. However two things really turned me off.

First, the trigger had very sharp points where the vertical side met the horizontal bottom of the trigger. That was sharp enough that I think it could have drawn blood if grabbed in haste, and was decidedly uncomfortable just to dry fire. I hesitate to think what it would do to your finger under recoil. It was sharp on both sides, indicating that whoever was responsible for prepping these triggers didn't spend enough time polishing the edges to make them properly contoured. What about just filing it down when I get the rifle home? Nope.....the trigger has a gold finish, so any filing or polishing would strip off the finish and be readily apparent. .

Second, the receiver to buttstock fit was terrible. The wood of the pistol grip seemed to me to be a bit on the fat side when I held it, and my feeling was right. Where the wood joined the receiver there was approximately 1/16th of an inch gap on one side, and the wood stood proud of the metal by 1/8th of an inch on one side and by 1/16th of an inch on the other. Any attempt to sand the MarShield-finished wood to better blend wood to metal would stand out like a hooker in church.