Thread: 8x57 Mauser with 180gr Nosler BT

Default 8x57 Mauser with 180gr Nosler BT

Does anyone happen to have a pic of one of their loaded rounds that I could use for comparison? I just reloaded some for my dad and they just dont look right. COAL is 3.245 on mine and it just looks long to me. I have zero experience with this round though. Someone who has a clue's pic of their loaded round would be very helpful.
    Thanks!
    I was miserable, then someone told me "smile and be happy, things could be worse". So I smiled and was happy...and they were right, things were worse!

Nosler lists Max. COAL as 3.250. As long as your round works through the magazine,and isn't jammed into the rifling, it should be ok.
    Oft, in the stilly night,
    Ere slumber's chain has bound me,
    Fond memory brings the light
    Of other days around me.

-Thomas Moore

Yeah.. thats sounds a 10th of a inch or two too long... Where did you get your load data? Does the round even fit in the magazine? Did you measure your chamber to see how far off the lands it sits? What OAL did the load data mention? Why did you sit the bullet out so far in the first place?

Almost all load books and reputable online load sites specifiy a OAL since that information is critical to keeping the pressure in limits with the type and ammount of powder and primer specified in the load data.

I would want to be very very sure everything was exactly right before I would let a loved one shoot any ammo I made.. you did right by coming here and asking your question.
    This post has been edited , vetted, and archived by the NSA.