Question 8MM Stripper Clips,Buy One Piece or 3 Piece??

I'm new to this 8 MM Stripper clip thingy. Whats the better Stripper Clip for the Gewehr 98...the Brass one piece stripper clip or the heavier Brass 3 piece stripper clip.

Thanks in advance,
    Aryck

Default Stripper clips..7,9 NOT "8mm"

Quote Originally Posted by Aryck View Post
    I'm new to this 8 MM Stripper clip thingy. Whats the better Stripper Clip for the Gewehr 98...the Brass one piece stripper clip or the heavier Brass 3 piece stripper clip.

Thanks in advance,
    Aryck
    Dear Aryck,
    Welcome to the Mauser world of collecting and shooting.

First thing is to get the Nomenclature straight:
    It is a 7,9 Clip ( or a M98 stripper clip). Both are definitive designations which tell exactly what it is in few words.

(The socalled "8mm" can refer to a whole passle of other calibres, none of which are either German, or even rimless)

The Clip used in the Gew98 and Kar98K is a special design (width) with a specific number of side lugs (three usually). and can be made of brass, plated brass, or steel, depending on the era.
    The One-piece clip ( where the "spring" is punched out of the main body of the clip) is a WW I design, and is good as far as it goes, for a "use it and lose it" combat situation.
    The Two-piece ( body and spring) design is much better suited to repeated use. The steel spring maintains its springiness, and can be removed to clean out any crud which may accumulate in the clip ( dropping on ground, etc).

Now remember about clip width. All the Mauser "export" clips are wider, and have no or one or two side lugs, in different positions. The German Gew98 clip, used in all German Service Rifles to 1945, has a narrower body to the "export" clip, and has normally three Lugs on the side walls...the outer ones to locate the clip in the clip guide, either way up, and the Middle one to distinguish it from "other" Clips used in Export Mausers, of different calibres.