Thread: 5.45X39 ??????

mad 5.45X39 ??????

I have a question for the experts out there. I am new to reloading and have asked before about pulling steel core bullets from 7.62x39 and 7.62x54R cartridges and replacing them with lead core bullets so I can shoot them at my range. We have severe fire hazard and we cannot shoot any steel core bullets on the range, PERIOD! The advice and support from you guys has been great. Now, I have another problem. I also own and shoot an AK-74 in 5.45x39. So I have a ton of questions.
    1. I cannot seem to find a 5.45 diameter bullet anywhere. Can I substitute a 5.56 (.223) bullet of a similar weight or is it just too big?
    2. Can I just pull the steel core bullet and replace it with a lead core similar to what I do with 7.62x39?
    3. Does anyone make brass cases for this caliber?
    4. Who makes a die set for this caliber. I have checked all my regular sources and have not been able to find any dies in this caliber.
    It is almost like everyone in the supply business just assumes that you have to shoot military surplus or Russian make ammo or don't shoot at all.
    Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    PapaRon

#1------------ I would not............... 5.45 is .214 caliber, .224 is 10-thou oversize.

IF you could get it to chamber, the chance of the case freeing the bullet under pressure is very small (no expansion room), very high pressures.

#2 ------------- If you could find .214"-ish bullets (a thou or 2 isn't a major problem, 10 thou IS.

#3---------------I have no idea........

#4-----------------RCBS makes dies. "Special Order Group G Dies".
    A look at RCBS's website...............
    56065 - 5.45MMX39 F L DIE SET

5.45MMX39 F L DIE SET
    Price $ 143.95

Welcome to wanting to handload an obscure or unpopular cartridge........
    I don't always venture out into the sub-freezing darkness, but when I do, it is hunting season, and I carry a Browning. Stay hungry my friends.

Default THANKS,