Thread: Hogan's Heros

Default Hogan's Heros

Watching an old rerun of the Hogan's Heros program. Sgt. Shultz is walking gaurd with a rifle over his shoulder while Bob Crain, Hogan, walks along with him talking about Shultz's new girl friend and guess what kind of rifle Shultz has over his shoulder, a Krag. I'm no expert on these rifles so I couldn't tell what model it was but I thought something was fishy when the rifle looked a little too slim for a German Mauser, and a little long barreled so I tried to see what the action looked like and sure enough the magazine gate stood out just as plain as day, and the magazine metal on the off side could then be seen. Guess the producers figured there was no one in the audiance smart enough to know the difference and if they did notice they wouldn't care one way or another. Hmmm, wonder if they knew the difference?

There was an episode where Hogan is disarming what it supposed to be a fake bomb in the compound. Shultz had a 1903A3 slung over his shoulder. Guess the Sgt had a vey bringback
    Ike
    "Hope is not a strategy"
    NRA Life Member

not hogan's heroes, but i watched death hunt last night and the scene where they try to dynamite bronson out of the cabin. the attackers were shooting all kinds of c&r rifles. interesting stuff.

Yah, I like Death Hunt, and I like the weapons. I've wondered each time I've watched it if they were all 'in time.' I think they did pretty good for Canada at that time frame. Not sure about the Mounties, Lee Marvin is using a Krag Carbine, the colored mounty has a sporterized British Enfield, and the young one has what looks like a Winchester '73, or '76. I would have expected them to have used all the same rifles, but I don't really know anything about the history of that branch of service. It is fun to watch all the different guns used throughout the movie.