Default Model 1892 in 25.20 cal.

Looking for some info on this Winchester Model 1892 in 25-20 WCF. Based upon the serial number, 841204 does anyone know when it was made? This rifle has is a fairly small caliber, does it have a market? It has a 20 inch round barrel.

Any help would be appreciated.

Joe
    Last edited by Gercolctor; 07-06-2008 at 08:36 PM.

There is a pop up peep sight behind the hammer. Was this original? The rear barrel sight has been removed.

I am no expert but that looks like a Short Rifle.
    .44-40 WCF. IS THE MOST POPULAR WITH 1892 COLLECTORS THEN
    .38-40 WCF.
    .32-20 WCF.
    .25-20 WCF.
    NOT SURE IF THE 92 CAME OUT IN .218 BEE, OR THE MOD. 53 OR THE MOD. 65 LEAVER GUNS.
    I can not help much with the s/# but i think about 1917.
    Where's Burt Hartman when you need him :-)
    Cheers chester.

You know all the words and you sing all the notes but you never quite learned the song.
    I can tell by the sadness in your eyes, that you never quite learned the song.

The round is a nice little groundhog and varmint killer but not in modern sense (not flat shooting). It will take out a groundhog or coyote nicely though.

reddog

Thank you for the info. Never seen a 25-20 before and was not sure exactly what was the purpose of this caliber.

Chester & Ben Gunn, I appreciate the manufacturer's date and the Winchester info web site.

I have one that has a hex barrel. Is it worth more than the round?

Quote Originally Posted by enterprisecvn View Post
    I have one that has a hex barrel. Is it worth more than the round?
    Hex barrel or hex reciever cuz my mosin has a hex receiver and made in 1925

exter

The hex barrels on the model 1892 are considered by some folks to be more desirable then the round ones.

Joe

Clyde is offline Gold Bullet Member and Noted Curmudgeon