Default What is a 'capture screw?'

I'm a newbie to the k98 world and I've run into the phrase 'capture screws'. Will someone here explain what that means?
    Thanks!

They are really trigger guard locking screws. They are the little screws that go into the trigger guard to keep the trigger guard screws from backing out.

Not sure why the term "capture screw" prevailed as the common term?

Quote Originally Posted by Kweeksdraw View Post
    I'm a newbie to the k98 world and I've run into the phrase 'capture screws'. Will someone here explain what that means?
    Thanks!
    That's probably referring to a pair of screws under the trigger guard that are normally missing from "Russian Capture" rifles. There are two pair of screws there, and I'm sure someone here can give a better explanation of why the K98 was designed that way.

I've read that the Russians had these captured weapons in storage, and to meet the language in some treaty about the number of weapons they had, they removed the second pair of screws and the sight hood in order to claim that these rifles had been deactivated.

Again, I'm sure someone else here can give you more particulars, but maybe this will help.

The locking screws are small screws that are placed in the trigger guard. The main screws holding the trigger guard to the receiver have notches in them, that the head of the locking screw sits in, thus "locking" the screws that hold the rifle together.

http://www.buymilsurp.com/zencart/images/K98LOCKSCREWS.jpg
    Last edited by Gunner220; 08-03-2008 at 12:15 PM.

i always felt capture screw is the dumbest name for the part... locking screw would be far more accurate

it's the small screws that lock the action screws in place on a mauser...

as seen here on my Spanish M1944

on russian captures these are almost always missing

Quote Originally Posted by Kweeksdraw View Post
    Thanks!
    Me tinks dat in 1934-1945, they didn't call them capture screws!