Gunboards Forums banner

Minie ball bases: to lube or not to lube?

9K views 22 replies 17 participants last post by  bones92 
#1 ·
I'm getting ready to lubricate a batch of minies for the upcoming black powder season and was curious about the board's opinions on filling the bases with lube. I have seen people recommend both filling the bases and leaving them empty, so I am curious as to what those here do and why?

#2 ·
I tried filling the base of a .476 Webley bullet, it is like a minie, and fired into a (not deep enough) bucket of water, all the grease remained in the base. Drill a small hole through the bullet, and the base grease will be blown out in front of the bullet

#3 ·
I have been filling the base cavity for 45 years of my .58 minnies fired in a Zolli repro Remington Zouave with Crisco. The Crisco seems to keep the fouling soft, making reloading easier. If I do not use the Crisco, the fourth ball becomes difficult to reload without swabbing the barrel.

#4 ·
Minie was designed to be shot with the hollow base being filled with a plug (usually baked clay wedge), not lube. Ball, of course, had grease grooves.

I don't shoot a Minnie rifle, but the folks I know who do seem to be divided between lube-filled cavity and dry cavity. They seem to have pretty similar results.

#5 ·
None of the bullets use in the Civil War were lubed in the base. Filling the cavity defeats the entire premise of the mini ball. The lube cushions the skirt and it will not properly expand in to the rifling. The wood plug idea was abandoned shortly after it was tried. I have disassembled several original paper ctgs and none had any lube in the base.

#8 ·