Thread: USPS shipping regulations regarding firearms?

Exclamation USPS shipping regulations regarding firearms?

Can someone point me to an online reference for the USPS shipping regs? I need to print out as copy to provide to the manager of a local post office. Two of the gorillas at a downtown location told me I could not ship a firearm UNLESS it was a pre-1898 antique or I was a licensed dealer. :

I want to "edumacate" their whole shop on this so I don't have to deal with their stupidity again. My local PO is fine, but occasionally I need to use this other location to ship during the day when I'm at work. I cannot even BEGIN to describe how angry I was - when i mentioned that I had been shipping firearms as a private citizen for over 5 years, one of the idiots told me he's been WORKING there for 11 years - I was tempted to say "gee, too bad you haven't learned your job in all that time!" but I was too mad to think about it at the time...

TIA for any info.
    Gunhorde [:D]

Milsurps - like legal crack

"There were 1.5 million people at the inauguration and only 14 missed work." - unknown

3782 posts on the previous G.B. V.3

This is the USPS regs: http://www.usps.com/cpim/ftp/pubs/pub52.pdf. Firearm info starts on page 63.
    "The NRA believes America's laws were made to be obeyed and that our Constitutional liberties are just as important today as 200 years ago. And by the way, the Constitution does not say Government shall decree the right to keep and bear arms. The Constitution says 'The right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed."
    -Ronald Reagan

Excellent, thanks!

"There were 1.5 million people at the inauguration and only 14 missed work." - unknown

Long gun, unloaded, no ammo and "disassembled" (bolt removed, barrel band removed, who knows?)
    Oh I forgot: the clerk doesnt need to know any of that, only the Postmaster for that station.
    Last edited by zampilot; 10-05-2008 at 04:24 PM.