Gunboards Forums banner

Suggestions for BP Revolver C & B - New, and want in on this Cloud

3K views 34 replies 15 participants last post by  AZshooter 
#1 ·
I am new to BP and looking at/tempted by a 1970 Uberti G & G Navy .44 cap and ball, thinking it may be well made and last me many years ... if not THAT, any suggestions on a solid, affordable BP percussion revolver, possibly in the 1858 Remington/Beal style that will be durable, last me for many years with careful care ... and light-heavy loads ???

How did I NOT come to this Smoke Pole Forum sooner after years on this Board ??

#2 ·
Pietta and Uberti make good 1858 Remington's you can find them on sale at Cabela's quite often. I bought one out of the bargain cave for under 200.00. I use .454 balls and 30gr 777. More accurate than my modern guns.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

#4 ·
That 1858 Remington looks like the way to go ... Thank you!

From the short BURST of information and videos I have absorbed, I just cannot believe the flexibilty of loads these pistols tolerate, and fine accuracy with ball-loads that are for real. And, the .44 can be loaded to exceed my "modern" 9mm in Ft Lb energy - these are far more powerful than I understood.

Cleaning is just different, not 5x harder, than what good cleaning of modern weapon would be it looks like ... I will find out soon.

I am steering to Uberti and Pietta.

THANK YOU!

#6 ·
Well, Remingtons are popular, and certainly easier to disassemble and clean, but having said that, the Colts were generally speaking, infinitely more popular during and after the Civil War, for mostly valid reasons. For most people, they "hang" in the hand better, and feel "handier", and just seem to go to point-of-aim more rapidly. They also are significantly more resistant to fouling, and can fire longer w/o a disruption for cleaning, clearly something that would be appreciated by a soldier. Just my two cents.

#9 ·