Finish on a C96 Broomhandle

Thread: Finish on a C96 Broomhandle

Default Finish on a C96 Broomhandle

I am looking to purchase this C96 but I do not know what to make of the finish in terms of its originality -- see pictures below. Looks a bit flaky and mottled to me. Does it look original to you?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2571 (1).jpg 
Views:	52 
Size:	318.6 KB 
ID:	2033050Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2570 (1).jpg 
Views:	73 
Size:	343.2 KB 
ID:	2033058

I'd guess it's a reblue, just from the wear on the grips. With grips that worn, I wouldn't expect any finish at all. OTOH, if the gun spent it's life in a holster/stock, and the only thing exposed was the grip, I guess it's possible. What do the grip straps look like?

Yes, good point about the grip wear. Unfortunately, I do not have a picture of the strap.

4. Remove Advertisements
    GunBoards.com
    Advertisements

I am by no means a Broomhandle expert. However over many (too many!) decades, I've certainly seen my share. Nice original finish on a 96 Mauser almost puts it in the museum quality category. Typically, these guns have all seen a lot of service as well as storage in far less than ideal conditions; such now cumulatively in excess of a century. There certainly may be some that were purchased commercially and remained in private hands, evading the ravages of time. But seldom seen and nowadays, such quality refinishes possible that even they'd likely be suspect. Now circumstances that the definite burden is on anyone asserting an original finish on one of these guns. A need to offer up some substantial supporting proof. The fact of blue observable within pitted surfaces surely to refute any assertions of originality. Grips of course subject to change, yet as noted, highly suspicious!
    Just my take

Postscript: Note my bit similar C96 Thread which I just updated.