Gunboards Forums banner

1898 liege nagant question

1K views 8 replies 8 participants last post by  ubersailer 
#1 ·
We're all the liege nagants commercial rust blued or were some dipped? IMO I thought this one looked reblued. The original nagants I've seen had that beautiful blue hue.

Here's the revolver in question

See less See more
#5 ·
The two photos make it difficult to tell. One looks grey black and the other overly blue. The last photos if actual condition appears to be a perfect example kept in a safe forever, or reblued. That's just my take. That first photo appears to be as Joe says, original rust blue faded. It's beautiful in my opinion.
Richard

#6 · (Edited)
Pay your money, make your guess

Nice Pistol!!

And, yes...ALL bluing will fade with time, use, cleaning, carry and abuse.

I have handled, cleaned, purchased and sold over...ehhhh...don't wanna brag here or sound like I am an MILSURP EXPERT...'many' Milsurp pieces. Rifles, pistols, etc.

And I agree with all above...without 'knowing' the complete history of the piece and 'who used it, where, when, how long, for what'...it is very difficult to comment on
"Has this piece been 'reblued'? Now, if you know it has been arsenal refinished, rebuilt, overhauled... the guess is again, up in the wind. Or, (I know this-) the armorers in Yugoslavia are not the same men/women in Russia with the same orders, mil specs, tools, chemicals, manpower. That said...the frame looks, to me, in better condition than the cyclinder. So...what does that mean? Gee.... here we go again... Did an armorer rush the frame through a 'redo' and have to grab the cyclinder to get it 'out the door'? Why, When, where, who? Or, ALL PIECES of the gun could have been 'in the solution' the same amount of time but, the frame and pieces could have been 'cleaned' by IVAN better than IGOR cleaned the cyclinder causing the cyclinder not to 'take' the bluing better than the other pieces.