L1a1 pickup

Thread: L1a1 pickup

Default L1a1 pickup

I picked this up recently and had an hour last night before sundown and got a chance to finally shoot it. Ran flawlessly through 3 mags. Stripped it down to clean and got some pics of the parts. Im no expert but looks to be a run of the mill CAI L1a1 made on an imbel receiver. Bolts looks to be british, few of the other smaller parts have british markings but i dont know about some of the other parts. Barrel is chrome lined with a what looks to be the grenade launcher muzzle brake. The muzzle brake has threads on the inside of the brake. I don't know where to look for markings on the barrel to determine country of origin. I see no markings on the trigger housing maybe indian? The bolt carrier is of unknown origin. Looks to be a mixmaster but functions well. All in all its a nice fun range toy.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200201_224310.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	1.58 MB 
ID:	3579225

Name:	20200202_214646.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	2.27 MB 
ID:	3579227

Name:	20200202_215339.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	1.85 MB 
ID:	3579229

Name:	20200202_214748.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	1.43 MB 
ID:	3579231

Name:	20200202_214758.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	1.46 MB 
ID:	3579233

Name:	20200202_215657.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	1.42 MB 
ID:	3579235

The breech block or bolt is a British Enfield item, the serial number being UE (insert year date as I can’t see it) Axxxxx.

The barrel and likely lower look to be South African R1.

And I forgot to mention the carrier is also British, that’s the last 7 of the NSN on the top and the B50 being BSA (Birmingham Small Arms) 1950.

4. Remove Advertisements
    GunBoards.com
    Advertisements

Thank you Brit plumber...a mixmaster of parts for sure but I'm happy with it. Would the South African parts have been surplused as whole rifle kits or a hodge podge of parts in bulk?

Nice one to have! Enjoy!

Nice rifle. Let us know how she shoots!