Tula '41 SVT-40 Info Needed

Thread: Tula '41 SVT-40 Info Needed

Default Tula '41 SVT-40 Info Needed

Just picked up this SVT-40 and took it all the way down. No Import Markings and from what my untrained eye can tell, the serial numbers match sans magazine. I am no expert on fonts, placement, etc.

Stock clearly has been sanded, but the matching serial is still visible, bolt carrier has possibly been cleaned up over time, steel wool maybe, doesn't look like grinding to me. No evidence of purple or red bluing. Barrel band is early type correct for Tula '41, muzzle brake is early type correct for tula '41, safety is early type with a hole and tula marked, trigger guard is early type not widened and rear sight leaf is early type grooved correct for spring '41 tula. Stock is early type narrow. Ton of the small parts are Tula Star marked, not sure if that's correct or not.

Bore legitimately looks like a mirror with very sharp rifling. Bluing is thinning on the receiver, making me think its not a unmarked Finnish Capture.

To me this looks like its a magazine mismatch non-import "GI Bring Back," but anyone with more knowledge than me care to chime in.

PICTURES: https://imgur.com/a/pZFDzQ1
    Last edited by Abalducci; 06-09-2020 at 02:48 PM.

I'm no expert but that is a fine non refurbed SVT...

Is the import mark very small and behind the stock on the left or right side of the receiver? I have a 1940 Tula who's import mark is hidden by the stock. I think it is below the stock in this area. Either side. I don't have access to my rifle.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image2.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	97.3 KB 
ID:	3667759
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image3.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	152.8 KB 
ID:	3667761
    Gary

***WARNING*** Mosins breed like rabbits!

In shallow men the fish of little thoughts cause much commotion. In oceanic minds the whales of inspiration make hardly a ruffle. PARAMHANSA YOGANANDA