Gunboards Forums banner

Are the days of cheap SKS’s gone for good?

14K views 119 replies 56 participants last post by  vintovka 
#1 ·
Hey everybody, I’m new to the milsurp game and am just getting started even looking into old pieces to pick up. My interests lie with old combloc firearms, so naturally I thought I would pick up an SKS. It’s real painful seeing prices like $75 and $100 not that many years ago when it seems like the going rate is $300 and up nowadays. My question is, can I ever expect prices to get lower over time or should I just go ahead and start collecting now?

#2 ·
I'm not any kind of authority on these but I believe a lot of the Chinese SKS's coming in sat in Albania or something for a long time and that's what made them legal to import. So when those dry up, and I have no idea how many are left, prices always rise when stuff stops getting imported. That being said, there are millions out there someone would probably export to us but it's just not legal right now. So, if some laws/sanctions change and they import millions of them the price will generally go down at least a little vs market value except for more rare versions. So my thinking is, if you're not willing to gamble on laws changing then yes I would collect now but be aware they could drop some day, even though unlikely. I think the chances of any of that red tap changing are very unlikely in the near future given the geopolitical situation in places that have a lot of SKS's like China, Russia, Ukraine etc. Also, the left isn't looking to ease gun importation anytime soon. I don't think the prices are going to shoot up dramatically soon but I also don't see them getting any cheaper other than a quick sale on an online retailer. Just my thoughts, and I'm basing this on knowing very little about the SKS and more of what I see as a general trend in military surplus. So yes, might as well start now.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

#6 ·
Woodchucker: