Gunboards Forums banner

Japanese navy canteen translation request

938 views 13 replies 5 participants last post by  104056 
#1 ·
Hello, picked up this neat Japanese Special Naval landing forces canteen at a yard sale today, I'm really more of a bayonet collector but this really appealed to me because someone has both painted and sewn some markings onto the strap and the canteen cover itself, I'm guessing they are unit markings but I'm no expert, can anyone confirm? Thanks!

-TheYardbird

See less See more
#2 ·
There is no such thing as special naval landing force canteens or special naval landing force items for that matter. This would be akin to calling a regular Type 99 rifle an "imperial guard rifle". The markings do not indicate usage by SNLF let alone IJN infantry. The large markings say "furu 31" and the strap also has 31 with what appears to be a name, but the characters do not spell any name I am familiar with.

#8 ·